User Types defines the level of access and sharing the user has within the system. There are three types:
The Admin, or Administrator, has account wide access to all users, Content (templates, images, Smart Attachments, etc.), and Lists. Admin users may access any other user’s reports. They can also view and edit any content or lists. Only an Admin may add, reassign, migrate and delete users, and make other system-wide settings modifications.
By default, PoliteMail users must explicitly share any content or lists they create if they want them to be accessible to any other user besides themselves (and the Admin). Therefore, to create an “open sharing” account, you may set all users to Admin level, which enables all reports and content to be automatically accessible to all other Admin users.
An Admin may control content sharing within the system. An Admin may create or modify templates or lists, and make them available to certain individual users or Groups (a specific Region or Business Unit). The Admin may assign ownership of any item to a specific user, thereby giving that user the ability to edit, modify and delete that item. By assigning ownership to ‘All Users,' the Admin makes the content available to every other user in the system. By assigning an item to a specific Region or Business Unit, the Admin limits sharing and access to just that group. Any user within the group may view the item and use it, but no user may modify or delete the shared item unless the ownership of that item is also assigned.
Manager level users have the ability to access information for only the users within their group. Managers may access reports, modify and share templates and lists within their specific group. PoliteMail provides two Groups - Business and Region. Learn more about PoliteMail Groups
For example, if you are set as a Manager of UK (Region), Consumer Goods (Business Unit), you could see all other users (and content) within the UK AND Consumer Goods.
If you are set as a Manager of UK (Region) (Business Unit set to Unassigned), you will see content within the Unassigned Business Unit and within the UK (Region).
Likewise, if you are set as a Manager of Consumer Goods (Business Unit) and the Region set to Unassigned, you see the content within the Consumer Goods (Business Unit) and within Unassigned.
NOTE: It may help to think about Unassigned as content that anyone within your organization can access. A Manager can see content within the Unassigned Business and Region by default; whereas a User can only access Unassigned content if it is shared.
A User may only access their own reports, and view, edit and modify their own content. Users must explicitly share any content (templates/images) or lists they want to make accessible to other Users within their group. By default, any content the User creates will be automatically assigned to the group they belong to. If the User does not have a Group assignment, the content will be labelled Unassigned. Users can also view all Admin-shared and Manager-shared content, but they may not modify (save over) or delete these items. Users may assign ownership of their content to another, but if it is assigned outside of their own group, they will lose their own ability to view, edit or use it.